Michigan

The criminal offense of criminal property damage in Michigan is known as Willful and Malicious Destruction of Property. It is a crime, under Michigan law, to willfully and maliciously destroy or injure someone else’s property.  The type and severity of the damage, and the circumstances determine whether this offense is charged as a misdemeanor or a serious felony.

Felony Willful & Malicious Destruction Laws

If any of the following apply to your case, you will face felony charges and a potential maximum sentence of up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $15,000 or three times the value of the damage, whichever is greater.

  1. The value of damage is greater than $20,000, or
  2. You have 2 or more prior convictions of malicious destruction.

You could face felony charges and up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000 or three times the value of the property damage, whichever is greater if any of the following apply to your offense:

  1. The value of damage is between $1,000 and $20,000, or
  2. You have one or more prior convictions of this offense.

Misdemeanor Willful & Malicious Destruction Laws

    If any of the following specifics apply to your case, you will face misdemeanor charges and a maximum of one year in jail and fines of $2,000 or three times the value of the damage, whichever is greater:

    1. The value of damage is between $200 and $1,000, or
    2. If the value of damage is less than$200 and you have a prior conviction of this offense

    If the value of damage is less than $200, you will be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to 93 days in jail and fines of up to $500 or three times the amount of damage, whichever is greater.

    This chart should make things clearer:

    Cost of Property Damage Prior Offenses Charge Penalty
    > $20,0000 2 or more Felony Up to 10 Years in PrisonFines up to $15,000 (or 3x Damage)
    $1000 > $20,000 1 or more Felony Up to 5 Years in PrisonFines up to $10,000 (or 3x Damage)
    $200 > $1000 any Misdemeanor Up to 1 Year in JailFines up to $2,000 (or 3x Damage)
    under $200 none Misdemeanor Up to 93 Days in JailFines up to $500 (or 3x Damage)

    Ref: Michigan Penal Code §750.377a

    You will face elevated charges if the property damaged belongs to a police or fire department, a home or barn, a school or school bus, a fence, or a multitude of other property distinctions.

    Burning of Insured Property

    A related property damage crime is burning of insured property, which is a form of insurance fraud. If you willfully burn any building or personal property that is insured against fire and you do so with intent to injure and defraud you will be charged with a felony.

    This serious felony offense in Michigan is punishable by up to 10 years in prison.

    Ref: Michigan Penal Code §750.75