If the prosecution has probable cause to believe you intentionally damaged someone else’s property without their consent you could arrested for a Criminal Damage to Property offense in the state of New Mexico.
In most circumstances criminal damage to property is considered a petty misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines reaching a maximum of $500.
However, if the damage committed is valued at more than $1,000, you will face a 4th degree felony charge and a potential “basic” sentence of 18 months in prison.
Ref: NM Criminal Code §30-15-1
New Mexico Graffiti Laws
You could be charged with graffiti if the prosecution has probable cause that you intentionally and maliciously defaced someone else’s property with graffiti or other inscribed material without consent of the owner. The charge you face is dependent on the value of the damage done to the property.
If the damage is valued at less than $1,000 you will face a petty misdemeanor charge punishable by up to 6 months in jail and $500 in fines. In addition to this you will be required to perform a mandatory 100 hours of community service as well as paying restitution to the property owner.
If the damage is greater than $1,000, you will be charged with a 4th degree felony, punishable by a basic sentence of 18 months in prison. In addition to this you will be required to do 160 hours of community service and pay restitution to the owner of the property.
Ref: NM Criminal Code §30-15-1.1
Damaging Insured Property
If you damage property, whether it belongs to you or someone else, with the intention of collecting insurance money, you could be charged with this serious offense.
Damaging Insured Property is a 4th Degree felony which carries a potential basic sentence of 18 months in prison.
Ref: NM Criminal Code §30-15-3