North Carolina

The destruction of property crime in Norther Carolina is written as Will full and Wanton Injury to Property. If the prosecution has probable cause to believe you willfully and wantonly damaged, injured, or destroyed any property (whether public or private), you could be charged with Willful and Wanton Injury to Property in the North Carolina Criminal Courts.

Willful and Wanton Injury to Property is a Class 1 misdemeanor which carries a potential sentence of up to 1 year in jail.

Ref: NCGS 14-127

Injury to Public Building

A vandalism charge, the offense of Injury to Public Building is typically combined with disorderly conduct, but is a property damage crime onto itself as well. You could be charged with injury to a public building if you unlawfully mark, scribble, write deface, or injure the walls of any public place or any public statute or monument.

Injury to a public building is considered a Class 2 misdemeanor which carries a potential sentence of 30 days to 6 months in jail.

Ref: NCGS 14-132

Malicious Use of Explosive or Incendiary

There are several classifications of the offense of Malicious Use of Explosive or Incendiary and the charge you face depends on the target of the explosive or the results of the act.

If you willfully and maliciously damage any property belonging to someone else by explosive or incendiary device you could be charged with a Class G felony. This offense carries a potential sentence of 10 to 13 months in prison if you have no criminal convictions on your record.

If you willfully or maliciously damage or aid in the damage of any place of worship by explosive or incendiary device you will be charged with a Class E felony. If this is your first criminal charge you will face a potential sentence of 20 to 25 months in prison.

If you willfully and maliciously damage or aid in the damage of any State owned building, agency, or institution by explosive or incendiary device you will face Class E felony charges as well. Depending on your criminal history you will face at least 20 to 25 months in prison if convicted of this offense.

Ref: NCGS 14-49

Be Sociable, Share!