You could be charged with criminal mischief under North Dakota law if the prosecution believes that you:
- Willfully tampered with the someone else’s property to endanger that person or their property, or
- Willfully damaged the property of another.
The charge and potential sentence you face for this offense depends largely on the value of the damage incurred.
The charge you face will be a:
Class B felony if the damage incurred is more than $10,000 and the damage was done intentionally. A Class B felony carries a potential sentence of up to 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Class C felony if the damage is intentional and valued at between $2,000 and $10,000 or if the damage is caused by an explosive or destructive device. Class C felonies carry potential penalties of up to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.
Class A misdemeanor if the damage is committed recklessly and is valued at more than $1,000 or if it is committed intentionally and valued at between $100 and $2,000. In North Dakota, Class A misdemeanors carry a potential sentence of up to 1 year in jail and $2,000 in fines.
Class B misdemeanor if it doesn’t qualify as any of the other classifications above. Class B felonies are punishable by up to 30 days in jail and fines reaching $1,000.
Ref: ND Criminal Code § 12.1-21-05
Tampering with or Damaging a Public Service
You could face this serious charge if you are accused of causing a substantial impairment or interruption of service of a public service including transportation, communication, and other public utilities by:
- Tampering with or damaging the property of another,
- Incapacitating an operator of such public service, or
- Negligently damaging the tangible property of another by explosive or other dangerous means.
If you commit the act intentionally you will face a Class C felony charge punishable by up to 5 years in prison and fines of $5,000.
If you commit the act knowingly or recklessly you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor which carries a sentence of up to one year in jail and $2,000 in fines.
If the offense doesn’t fit into either classification above, you will likely face Class B misdemeanor charges and a potential penalty of up to 30 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.
Ref: ND Criminal Code § 12.1-21-06