In Virginia, injury to property is the most basic of property damage offenses. This criminal charge occurs when you unlawfully destroy, deface, remove, or damage any property belonging to someone else.
The charge faced for committing this injury to property is a Class 1 misdemeanor if the value of damage done is less than $1,000. Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable by up to 1 year in jail and $2500 in fines.
Injury to property can also be charged as a Class 6 felony, if the damage done is valued at more than $1,000. A Class 6 felony carries a potential sentence of 1 to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $2500.
Ref: Virginia Code §18.2-137
Damaging Public Buildings – Virginia Laws & Penalties
Damage to public buildings including government property is a separate charge onto itself. You can be charged with this offense if you are accused of breaking any window of the Capitol, any courthouse, house of worship, college, school, city hall, or other public building or library or damaging or defacing any of these buildings, or damaging any property contained within these properties.
If the damage committed is valued at more than $1,000 you will face a Class 6 felony charge which carries a sentence of 1 to 5 years in prison and $2,500 in fines.
If, however, the damage is valued at less than $1,000 your charge will be a Class 1 misdemeanor and your sentence up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $2,500.
Ref: Virginia Code §18.2-138
Stealing from or Tampering with any Parking Meter, Vending Machine, Pay Telephone, etc.
If you are accused of forcing entry or attempting to force entry into, or tampering with any parking meter, vending machine, pay telephone, change machine, or other machine that receives money with intent to steal you can be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. Class 1 misdemeanors are punishable by up to 12 months in jail and $2,500 in fines.
If this is a second offense conviction of this offense you will face an elevated Class 6 felony charge which carries a potential sentence of 1 to 5 years in prison and fines reaching $2,500.
Ref: Virginia Code §18.2-152