Under Wyoming law, criminal property destruction and defacement occurs when you knowingly deface, damage, or destroy someone else’s property without their consent.
In most cases, where the damage is valued at less than $1,000, this is a misdemeanor charge that carries a potential sentence of up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $750.
If the value of damage is greater than $1,000, you will face a felony charge and a potential sentence of up to 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Ref: Wyoming Statutes §6-3-201
Wyoming Altering Landmarks Criminal Charge
You could be charged with altering landmarks if the prosecution has probable cause to believe that you acted with intent to destroy or deface a monument, part of a monument, a landmark, or a tree designating the corner or boundary of a tract of land by:
- Moving the monument of landmark,
- Defacing or altering any part of the landmark,
- Breaking, cutting down, or removing the monument, landmark, or tree.
Altering landmarks is a misdemeanor offense that carries a potential penalty of up to 6 months in jail and fines reaching $10,000.
Ref: Wyoming Statutes §6-3-202
Wyoming Negligent Burning Laws
The offense of negligent burning applies to setting fire to the woods prairies, or grounds belonging to another or negligently allowing fire pass from your own property to the property of another. This is considered a misdemeanor offense under Wisconsin law and carries a potential sentence of up to 6 months in jail and $750 in fines.
Ref: Wyoming Statutes §6-3-105
Failure to Extinguish or Contain Fire
If you fail to put out or contain a fire in the woods or prairie, you could be charged with this offense. This applies to campfires that are not properly cared for upon departure as well. This offense carries a misdemeanor fine of $750.
Ref: Wyoming Statutes §6-3-106